Iraq: AFC Champions!!

August 2, 2007

A surprise in the 2007 Asian Cup! The Iraqis win it!

In spite of being a country in civil war, the team played together and beat Saudia Arabia in the 2007 Asian Cup.

Hopefully they can use this win as fuel to qualify for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa. Congrats!!!


Brazil: Copa America Champions

August 2, 2007

Congratulations to Brazil who defeated their arch-rivals Argentina in the finals of Copa America Venezuela 2007 by 3-0.

This gives Brazil the COMEBOL crown entering the FIFA 2010 World Cup and they win with a young team led by players like Robinho. A very promising team for the future

AFC Asian Cup 2007 Starts tomorrow

July 6, 2007

The 2007 edition of the Asian Cup begins tomorrow with the Australia joining as a new member of the AFC.

The tournament will be co-hosted in four nations,  Thailand, Vietnam, Malaysia and Indonesia. Four groups, one playing in each country will play each other with the first two out of each group moving on to the quarter finals.

If you have any good links to an Asian Cup blog please go ahead and post them here.
All the best to the nations who qualified and a special good luck wish to Iraq who is playing inspite of the internal turmoil their people are facing.

2007 Asian World Cup

2010 World Cup Betting Odds

July 3, 2007

A bit early to bet? ABSOLUTELY.

But either way, here are the odds on favorite to lift the FIFA World Cup in South Africa. (For future reference, these are the odds back in summer 2007!)

  1. Brazil – 5
  2. Argentina – 6
  3. Italy – 8
  4. Germany – 9
  5. England – 10
  6. Spain – 13
  7. France – 15
  8. Holland  – 17
  9. Portugal – 26
  10. Czech Republic – 41
  11. Ivory Coast – 51 (!?!)
  12. Cameroon – 67
  13. Switzerland – 81
  14. South Africa – 81
  15. Russia – 81
  16. Ghana – 81

Logo Revealed

July 2, 2007

South Africa 2010 Logo

Cool, I guess? Not loving it buts its alright.

Copa America 2007 Begins

June 26, 2007

The Copa America 2007 begins tomorrow in Venezuela.

Recent Champions Brazil will be favorites in their group although Argentina are the favorites to bring the trophy home this year.

The Copa America is typically held every 2 years, but that has changed to a 4 year rotation like every other large international tournament, therefore the winner in ’07 will be the COMEBOL champs heading into the World Cup 2010 South Africa.

Besides all the COMEBOL members, Copa America invites two nations to the tournament and in this edition they will be Mexico and the USA.

Expect lots of great games with talented names like Hernan Crespo, Leo Messi, Juan Roman Riquelme, Carlos Tevez, Pablo Aimar (Argentina, Robinho, Vagner Love, Fred, Julio Baptista (Brazil), Arango (Venezuela), Pizarro, Farfan (Peru), Diego Forlan, Alvaro Recoba, Cristian Rodriguez (Uruguay), Roque Santa Cruz (Paraguay), Rafael Marquez, Andres Guardado, Omar Bravo (Mexico) and the new players who make their mark on an international stage.

Africa here we come!

October 2, 2006

South Africa, synonymous with Nelson Mandela, Apartheid, and Benni McCarthy were chosen to host the 2010 World Cup. The whole world is waiting!

Hello world!

July 2, 2006

Welcome to This is your first post. Edit or delete it and start blogging!